Init (A Linux Philosophy of Life )
Init (A Linux Philosophy of Life )

Init (A Linux Philosophy of Life )

Computer architecture or only Operating system architecture is pretty much the same as our own mind. While designing most of the program Systems or Robots, engineers always tend to find solutions from human life. Some real-life examples are always used to solve problems in the virtual world. 

Just like there is a philosophy of the init command in Linux. It was shown in one of the web series Mr. Robot. I am gonna explain it in my own way and I hope people who are not even interested in tech will also find it helpful. If they have enough patience to read it with technical words 😛

init -mode

Init stands for initialization. The Init command is used to start all the processes of the operating system with the script. If you have ever used a Linux system you can go to /etc/init.d/, and you will find all the scripts that are related to the process that starts on the startup of your system. There is basically 6 mode of init that runs the OS. The Init command is the last step in the kernel boot process. Out of all six processes, I will talk about the first three because that’s where my philosophy lies. 

Init 1

init 1

Init 1 is the first mode, which is called the Single User mode. In this mode system restarts and only starts a terminal, it doesn’t run the GUI daemon process or any network connection. It also doesn’t allow any other user to log in rather than root. 

If you think and compare it to our life, sometimes we need to be in this mode. When nothing is going according to plan, everything is falling apart. Your own actions are not in your control. At that time, all we need to do is just keep going. Without anyone telling us how to do it. without any external connection, just keep your own inner mind alive and that’s it. A single-user mode. Well, in Linux all it takes is two words, init and 1. But in real life, going into this mode is hard. You need lots of willpower to do that. But when things are bad, in that case, you need something like this. This isolation will only allow you to keep going with only your daily process. And when the bad time passes and things become a little clear, you can init the next sequence mode, Init 2

Init 2

Inti 2 is the second mode, which is called multiuser with no networking. Multi-users are the users who have signed in to the system and can also log in to the system now, but no daemon process or networking will work.

Now compared to life, the second stage of healing would be to initiate interaction with the people who are close to you. Like your family and friends. Those are the people who understand your behavior more than anyone else. They would understand what you are going through, they won’t put you in a situation that will create any kind of trouble for your peaceful mind for now. 

Init 3

Init 3 is Multiple users with networking mode. Now, this sequence opens you up to the world again, because now you can interact with networks. In an operating system, this is where we can use commands to install software and make our system more advanced or usable. The next levels are all daemon processes, GUI. Those things are not related to the mind in my case. And till this point thin you will be strong enough to hold up and face all the viruses or security in your operating system. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *